A Day to be Grateful!

by

Wow!  I can’t even begin to express how grateful I am for all the love and best wishes sent my way today.  I’m totally overwhelmed by the number of phone messages, texts, emails, Facebook messages, blog comments, cards and gifts from friends and family near and far not to mention all the wonderful face-to-face well wishes from the staff at the hospital!  I may not be able to return everyone’s greetings but you must know that I received them all and deeply appreciate every one!!!  Thank you…thank you!  I’m so grateful

There were a number of things that made today special…it started out with Rudy and is ending with the others all cozy on the couch.  In the midst of all the activity I was honored to visit our old neighbor in the CTICU.  Rolf and I were touched daily by this precious little girl who fought so hard in the room next to Rudy’s  for the past 7 weeks.  We saw the dedication of a loving foster family and the CTICU staff that filled her life with love and tenderness.  Her precious life on earth ended today and as I walked back to Rudy’s room after saying “goodbye”,  I felt so honored to have witnessed this little life…she deeply touched the lives that came in contact with her – I’m so glad I was one of them.  I spent the rest of the morning holding Rudy – tight – we looked at each other for a bit until he feel fast asleep.  I was so grateful

OT Nichole came for a little therapy and Nurses Barbara and Missi prepared him for some exercises off the vent completely!  The weaning began early this afternoon with an hour-long stint with the trach collar and he tolerated it well…another one hour stint was scheduled for this evening and so on!!!  He’s doing great.  Rolf and Max will head down to L.A. tomorrow in time for the first attempt at feeds through the g-tube!  Of course, we’re very anxious to see how it goes.

For now, though, our focus is on Wilson, Max and Olivia as we enjoy a rare movie night together as a family.  Freaky Friday is tonight’s movie choice…come to think of it, today was a bit “freaky” but, on many levels, a true gift of grace and love! 

a day I was so happy to share with Rudy...

a day I was so happy to share with Rudy...

 

 

 

...and the others at home!

...and the others at home!

P.S.   Thanks for the gift of a good laugh today Rolf!  Speaking of the 80s, don’t be surprised if the classic college video production of “Rolf:  Man, Myth or Mongoloid” gets mysteriously distributed worldwide!!!!
9 Responses to “A Day to be Grateful!”

  1. Dawn Bettencourt Says:

    peace be with you, hope it is a good day for Rudy and his loved ones……Diana HLHS grandma

  2. Grandma Jo Says:

    You both are still looking great after all you have been through. Well done! It is Saturday morning here in Lawrence and we have about 3 inches of snow and some still coming down bringing much needed moisture. We have much for which to be thankful for the blessings we have received. God is close by and enfolding us with his love through so many folks. Thank you, All!

  3. Donna Woolard Says:

    Trish, your postings continue to be fillled with love and are beautifully written. I love your pictures, with Rudy, and your wonderful birthday celebration with your family in S.B. Hugs.

  4. Gifford Says:

    Trish,

    Happy belated birthday. When I saw it, I thought, “I know that girl!” I know how buy you are and don’t know if you will be in LA a week from Sunday, but I am going to be in town and thought I would try to stop by the hospital. If I won’t catch you there, I will say a prayer and think of you and yours.

    Cheers,

    Ronnie

  5. Pat Says:

    Many, many prayers for all of you–especially for the feedings. And a belated Happy Birthday to you, Trish.

  6. KatyJulianMateoCruzLucy Says:

    Yum yum Rudy…get ready for some lovin in your tummy! So glad you were spoiled for your big day, Trish… don’t be overwhelmed, just bask (basque?!?) in it!

  7. Cindy Woodmansee Says:

    What an honor to finally meet you yesterday. I only wish I had met you at the beginning of our journey with Angel. I am still wearing my beautiful heart necklace you so graciously gave Allison and myself. I stopped by your room after I finally put Angel down and you had already left. I held her when her heart rate started to drop and did so for the 45 minutes it took for her to enter the gates of heaven. I was honored to be her mother while she was on this earth. I haven’t had a chance to do your disc of pictures yet, but I will early this week. Blessings to you and your beautiful family. If you are on facebook , look me up and we can be friends. Thank you for your kindness, Love, Cindy

  8. Maria Says:

    Happy Birthday, Trish!

  9. Tanya Obregon Says:

    Trish,
    You look beautfiul and Rudy looks better and better all the time!!! What blessed day for you to celebrate your birthday with Rolf and kids!! Enjoy every second!!

    Love,
    Tanya

Leave a Reply

